Welcome + What I Ate Wednesday

Image

Rain, rain go away! (Credit: Blanca Gomez via Etsy)

It has been a sleepy, wet week here in Houston, but I am very excited for our first What I Ate Wednesday (WIAW)!


While combing through health and fitness blogs, I stumbled upon http://www.peasandcrayons.com/p/wiaw.html and loved the idea. Who isn’t interested in what other people are eating?

BREAKFAST

The rain makes me crave comfort food, and what is better than pancakes on a drizzly morning? My goal this summer is to increase my fruit and veggie intake, so I decided to be adventurous and mix spinach into the pancake batter.

I was cautiously optimistic about the outcome, but thankfully they were wonderful and an awesome addition to my recipe arsenal.

http://stuftmama.com/2011/09/26/fitness-palooza/

Waiting for the mean green monsters to bubble up. (Credit: Anne Parker)

I pretty much followed Stuft Mama’s recipe, except I added an extra tablespoon of oats to make the consistency a bit thicker.

Delicious, green perfection! (Credit: Anne Parker)

I topped the pancakes with a tablespoon of Trader Joe’s Almond Butter, a sliced banana and a light drizzle of Agave nectar. What a great way to start a rainy day!

MID-MORNING SNACK

I was still so unbelievably stuffed from the pancakes that I skipped my usual snack. I did make a cup of organic green tea (I recommend Prince of Peace) and topped it off with a lemon.

LUNCH

My eyes were bigger than my stomach when lunch time finally rolled around. I decided that after such a filling breakfast, that a salad and salmon filet would make a good afternoon meal.

Strawberry + Feta Cheese + Balsamic Dressing

3 sliced organic strawberries

1 tablespoon of crumbled feta cheese

Drizzle of Newman’s Organic Balsamic

Sauteed Salmon Filet

1 salmon filet, seasoned with salt/pepper to taste

1 tablespoon of olive oil

After seasoning both sides of the filet, pour the olive oil into a pan and cook on medium heat until flaky.

Huge yummy salad with spinach and strawberries. (Credit: Anne Parker)

The salmon was delicious, but I couldn’t even eat a quarter of the filet after all of the salad. Luckily, my mom was starving and gladly took the fish off of my hands.

The salad and salmon were so easy to make, and provided such a powerful punch of Omega-3s and other antioxidants. You must try this!

 AFTERNOON SNACK

I had to work this afternoon so I grabbed a hand full of almonds and another big mug of green tea to go. I find that I have so much more energy when I have small snacks like this throughout the day.

Handfuls of unsalted almonds provide small power boosts on busy days. (Credit: Urban Bites 254)

DINNER 

I was stuck at work until late, so I did not have a lot of time to whip dinner together. I decided on simple broiled tomatoes with a side of blueberries and homemade kale chips would hit the spot.

Broiled Tomatoes

1 sliced tomatoes

Sprinkle of shredded Mozarella cheese

salt and pepper to taste

olive oil cooking spray

Slice the tomato into thin slices and season with salt and pepper. Sprinkle the top with mozarella cheese. Spray the cooking sheet with the olive oil spray and broil on High for 5 minutes.

I was so hungry, I forgot to take a picture before devouring them!

Homemade Kale Chips

2 handfuls of rinsed and dried kale

Salt and pepper + garlic salt to taste

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees Fahrenheit and spray the cooking sheet with olive oil spray. Sprinkle the seasonings onto the kale and bake for 10-15 minutes. *Tip- try not to open the oven door until at least 10 minutes have passed, it lets out a lot of heat!

Kale chips are a light, healthy side. (Credit: Anne Parker)

DESSERT

I don’t always eat dessert but I was craving chocolate. I grabbed a frozen Trader Joe’s Chocolate Mochi, and it hit the spot!

These frozen balls of rice paste are a different way to satisfy your sweet tooth! (Credit: Paste Magazine)

 

There you have it! My schedule kept me away from home all afternoon and into the evening, but with quick and easy recipes on hand I was able to avoid reaching for cheap junk.

Tomorrow I am checking out the new Zoe’s Kitchen with my sister, Kerrin, who is a vegan. I will post pictures and a review this weekend.

Until then, stay dry and happy eating!

9 thoughts on “Welcome + What I Ate Wednesday

  1. All of these recipes look absolutely delicious and seem fairly simple to execute. Also Mochi ice cream is one of my favorites. I will definitely be trying those spinach pancakes out in my near future.

  2. I Love this! it is always difficult to eat the right things when on the go, when all you want to do is grab something quick like fast food. The recipes will be very useful to me as I start my new organic diet. Great and useful blog!

  3. I love the way you formatted this post! Delicious looking food as well 🙂 Thanks for sharing such useful recipes!

  4. Those spinach pancakes look really ridiculous but strangely appetizing. I like how you kept it light too with just bananas and agave nectar. Quick question, do you always have unique items in your pantry like agave nectar and dried kale or did you go out and buy them for these meals?

    • I try to keep things like Agave nectar in my pantry so that I can reach for it in place of other sugary toppings. Kale is not always something I have kept on hand but lately I’ve been trying to eat a lot more veggies and the kale chips have become a pantry staple.

  5. W O W! My mouth watered as I read through your blog post. Every recipe sounded super delicious and encouraging to try. What really caught my eye is the MOCHI ice cream. Where can I find these? Your post encourages me to begin exploring in the kitchen, since I am into health and nutrition myself. Furthermore, you have very good writing skills; I like the catchy choice of words. Awesome post!

Leave a Reply

