Recipe Roundup

Hey guys!

I have been enjoying my last few weeks at home before heading back to Austin, and have been testing out tons of delicious recipes to share with you.

BREAKFAST

I like to eat a hearty, healthy breakfast to ensure I have enough energy to get through the day.

Since I have been trying to up my fruit and veggie intake and cut a lot of the gluten out of my diet, I have been obsessing over Van’s gluten free waffles!

You MUST try the Buckwheat waffles. (Credit: Van’s)

These waffles are delicious, organic and packed with protein. I like to layer bananas and blueberries with a little bit of Agave syrup drizzled on top. They are filling and a great way to start the day!

Fruit-packed frozen waffles. (Credit: Anne Parker)

The Texas heat zaps my appetite sometimes and the only thing I can bring myself to have for breakfast is a cold smoothie. The Mean Green smoothie is high in Vitamin C, Omega-3s and beta-carotenes to get you up and get you going.

The Mean Green

The Mean Green tastes better than it looks, I promise! (Credit: MsTeechur)

1 small banana

1/2 cup pineapple chunk

1 1/2 cup spinach leaves

1 carrot

1 celery stalk

1/2 pink grapefruit

1 tablespoon chia seeds

1. Chop the fruit into small chunks.

2. Add the carrots and celery into the blender first and blend.

3. Blend until smooth. Stop and stir throughout to reduce lumps.

Next time you need a breakfast replacement, or a cool, filling snack please try this!

LUNCH

Hummus Turkey Wrap

Quick, easy and portable turkey wraps. (Credit: Anne Parker)

Deli turkey meat

1/2 Laughing Cow cheese circle

Sliced tomato

Spinach

Hummus (Trader Joe’s)

Optional: side of BBQ Pop Chips and a few Strawberries

Simply wrap the turkey, cheese, hummus and veggies up in the whole grain tortilla and enjoy! So quick, so easy and so perfect for quick lunches between classes.

DINNER

Yummy mushroom and chicken sausage pizza. (Credit: Anne Parker)

Mushroom and Chicken Sausage Pizza

1 whole wheat pita pocket (Trader Joe’s or Target’s Flatout)

1 chicken sausage link (optional)

mushrooms

low-fat marinara sauce

Parmesan, goat cheese and mozzarella cheeses (little of each)

handful of spinach (yay more veggies!)

salt, pepper, garlic salt

1. Sautee your mushrooms in a cooking pan with the salt, pepper and garlic salt.

When the mushrooms are soft, add the sausage. (Credit: Anne Parker)

2. Add in the chicken sausage and cook on medium/low heat.

3. Preheat the oven to 450 degrees fahrenheit.

4. Open up the pita pocket and spread marinara sauce. Place in the over for 2-3 minutes.

You decide how much sauce you want to use. (Credit: Anne Parker)

5. Take the crust out and add a little more marinara, tomato slices and the cheeses.

How good is this starting to look? (Credit: Anne Parker)

 

5. Top the pizza with TONS of spinach and place the pizza in the oven for 4 minutes.

6. Finish the mushrooms and sausage and add to the top of the pizza along with more spinach (it wilts).

7. Broil for 3 minutes.

How incredible does this look? (Credit: Anne Parker)

 

I hope y’all try these recipes and love them as much as I have.

If anyone has healthy suggestions for snacks or meals, please leave a comment- I love adding new items to the rotation!

Lauren

4 thoughts on “Recipe Roundup

  1. I love this idea for a blog! I’m in PR317 too. I am always on health & fitness blogs and always trying to find inspiration for being heathier. You have definitely done that! To know someone my age can do this and share it is inspirational!

  2. I’m excited to make that smoothie. I love any thing with a tart and that grapefruit seems like it would do just the trick. I’ll probably experiment though and blend it all with some sort of juice, to thin it up. It seems like it would be super thick with all substance and no liquid. My girlfriend loves healthy smoothies packed with lots of nutrients so this will definitely win her over next time I’m in the dog house!

  3. Once again you have written a wonderful blog post! I have made those wraps you talked about and they are delicious; I would eat them between classes this past semester and would fill me until dinner. I think I might give that smoothie a try because I personally am not a coffee drinker; great alternate for a great start to the day, I feel.

Leave a Reply

